Witch Haus Zine Release Party! with Golden Hour / Globelamp / Appendixes @ Mother Foucault’s Bookshop (9/19)

By Cameron Crowell // Co-Editor

DSC_0524

I have never booked a show before — something I most certainly downplayed while attempting to put together last Saturday’s show at Mother Foucault’s Bookshop with three of my favorite local bands, Globelamp, Golden Hour, and Appendixes. Is that unethical? Maybe a little bit, but I think there was a greater good I was striving for in that I love all of these musicians very much and I think that other people do too. I didn’t go in completely blind, and did some researching (shouts out to Neil Campau’s zine Building: A DIY Guide to Creating Spaces, Hosting Events and Fostering Radical Communities). Also to be noted, book learning is very important to us all, so having the show in the fantastic bookshop space that is Mother Foucault’s made last Saturday truly special for at least me. Craig, I know you’re not into the whole internet thing, but I wish to send you my gratitude for being so great for local writers, musicians, artists, and readers of Dostoyevsky alike. And of course a big thank you to my partner/co-editor/love for helping me put everything together, run the door, and keep me sane while I perpetually freaked out.

As for the show itself, despite me being an anxious wreck the entire time, I think it went pretty well. Obviously the bands were great and nobody died. It was my first time seeing Globelamp coo transcendent echos with her twelve-string hollow body, as well as Portland four-piece Appendixes reverberate black-hole pop jams. And Golden Hour continues to amaze me every time I see them with their intense-devotional-punk songs that pull you in with catchy guitar hooks and knock you out with their stinging communal harmonies. Again thanks to everybody for coming out, buying merch and our Witch Haus Zines. I hope everybody will be around for the next one and that more artists share their deepest, darkest, most tender feelings with us. If you’ve got the urge to have one of our swell zines (Witch Haus PDX Issue #1) catch us at shows around town or if you live elsewhere send us an envelop with some monies ($3-5 suggested donation + 50 cents for postage).

[All photos by the author]

Photos:

One thought on “Witch Haus Zine Release Party! with Golden Hour / Globelamp / Appendixes @ Mother Foucault’s Bookshop (9/19)

  1. Pingback: Track Review: “Witch Girl” – Mini Blinds | witch◇haus◇pdx

Leave a comment